Issues of developing scientific and technical cooperation between the states of the Eurasian Economic Union were discussed by the Minister for Integration and Macroeconomics of the Eurasian Economic Commission Sergei Glazyev and the President of the National Academy of Sciences of the Kyrgyz Republic Kanatbek Abdrakhmatov. The meeting took place on October 27 in Bishkek.

As Sergey Glazyev emphasized, the EEC pays special attention to issues of promoting scientific and technical cooperation between the EEU states. The Board of the Commission has already approved six priority areas of scientific and technical development, including information and communication technologies, biotechnology, pharmacology and medicine, mechanical engineering technologies and others. In addition, work is underway on regulatory, legal and financial support for scientific and technical cooperation, a list of joint large-scale high-tech projects that can become symbols of Eurasian integration, and a framework program for scientific and technological development for the long term are being prepared.

He also noted that the Commission adopted advisory documents concerning methodological issues of scientific and technical cooperation, and approved a program for advanced training of researchers. Sergey Glazyev added that the EEC has prepared a textbook Eurasian Economic Integration: Theory and Practice and is actively interacting with the Eurasian Network University, created in 2022.

The President of the National Academy of Sciences of the Kyrgyz Republic, Kanatbek Abdrakhmatov, in turn, informed about the state and prospects for the development of science in Kyrgyzstan and expressed hope for strengthening ties between the scientific community of the Union countries. Kanatbek Abdrakhmatov noted Sergei Glazyev’s significant contribution to the development of science and strengthening scientific cooperation between the EEU states and awarded him the title of Honorary Academician of the National Academy of Sciences of the Kyrgyz Republic.


The National Academy of Sciences of the Kyrgyz Republic is an active member of the presidium of the Scientific and Technical Council under the Chairman of the EEC Board, with the start of which the dialogue on scientific and technical interaction between member states has intensified, and the creation of the Kyrgyz-Russian Technopark on the basis of the Academic Consortium International University of Kyrgyzstan has been supported.

The objectives of interaction in the scientific and technical sphere are comprehensively set in the Strategic Directions for the Development of Eurasian Economic Integration until 2025, approved by the heads of the EEU member states in 2020. Issues of developing the technological potential of the member states, introducing advanced scientific and technical solutions into leading sectors of the economy, and intensifying interaction in the field of digital transformation are reflected in the priorities of the Russian Federation’s presidency of the Union’s bodies in 2023.

Source: Alta-Soft